top of page

The Music In My Mind, It's Saying Everything's Going to Be Alright...

Hi everyone! School is super crazy with midterms, but I wanted to take a second to stop what I was working on and say hello, and to recommend two songs that I think you all need to go listen to immediately!

The first song is Carrie Underwood's new single "Something in the Water". One of my best friend's Jess played this for me when I was visiting her on Columbus Day, and it gave me CHILLS. No joke. It's a must listen. It's powerful and moving, and it's a return to her more Christian-centric music like "Jesus Take the Wheel", but with the grace and power that she has cultivated in the nine (yes, NINE) years since that first song came out. You can find it on YouTube I think.

The other song is the new track from Taylor Swifts new album that drops in 11 days, 12 hours, and 20 minutes. (There's a countdown on her website. Don't judge me.) It's NOT the second single, so you have to buy it on iTunes to hear the full song. They're being really careful about people trying to post it to YouTube. The secrecy! It's like we're all a part of a T-Sift Secret Session! The song is really catchy, like most of Swift's music, but as she mentioned during her Yahoo! Livestream last month, the new album is heavily influenced by 80's Pop music. This song is a perfect example! It's a perfect blend of Taylor Pop and 80's Pop. And yes, Taylor Swift gets her own genre. She's earned it. But the beat and the harmonies of "Out Of The Woods" are totally 80's, even if the lyrics are totally Tay. It's a great song that speaks to so many relationships where you don't know what the next day will bring or if you're even on the same page. It's amazing. My favorite lyric is "The monsters turned out to be just trees, when the sun came up and you were looking at me." If you love Taylor Swift, make sure you check out her first single from the new 1989 album "Shake It Off" because that one is also fantastic!

So if you like good music, check out these songs!! I'm going to run back to my hole now to finish my midterm studying and paper-writing. Tweet me @Ladywoods13! I love hearing from you, and I can't wait to see what you think of the songs!

Until next time,

Amanda

Photo Creds:

Popular Articles:
Topic Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page