top of page

What I've Been Up To - September Edition 2014


Hello Everyone!

I've missed you! I've only had the chance to post once since classes started at the end of August and September is half gone! Fall officially begins next week, and I can't even begin to tell you how excited I am for the crisp leaves and cold gusts of wind, football games and tailgates and family and food. But I'm sure I could spend hours writing a post about all my favorite Fall things. I have a couple ideas for posts for the coming weeks, so keep your eyes peeled!

Things that should be coming your way this year from Curio Street:

  • An overview of the PRSA NY Mock Tribunal that I attended in NYC on September 8th. Ah-mazing.

  • I'll probably do a post next week about the concert I'm going to this weekend: Cage the Elephant and The Black Keys in Philly! (I've never actually been to Philly, even though I'm barely farther from Philly than NYC!)

  • In October expect some cool posts about my trip to Seattle for the College Broadcasters Inc. Conference. (My first time on the west coast!) I promise to take a million pictures at the original Starbucks and the Space Needle and every museum I can get into. Traveling is my FAVORITE.

​​

  • Last on the list of post topics you should be seeing this season is another book review! Th flight to Seattle is 6 hours, and all the plane time I'll be clocking there and back should let me finish at least one book that's not mandated school reading.

As far as what I've been up to for the last month:

I'm taking 15 credits of classes, which for me is just about right, since I like to be involved on campus and this year I'm the President of the Production Club, the Program Director for the Radio Station, and the Vice President of Public Relations for my campus' PRSSA chapter. I'm also on a committee for our spring Research Symposium! I'm pretty sure I'm the only student on the committee, so I can't wait to work closely with my professors and the campus leadership to create a great event! That may sound like a lot (it is, I know it is), but I really enjoy everything that I do, so I don't mind going a little crazy making it all work. I have scheduled and rescheduled everything so it all fits perfectly in my schedule and I'm home by seven p.m. every night so I have plenty of time to work on papers and other homework I get assigned, and hopefully still have enough free time left to write for this blog! The first three weeks were rough because I had so many extra meetings that were eating up my free time. (Literally I was eating lunch during meetings sometimes...) But I am so excited for everything that is being planned, and now that everything is finally settling into a routine, I can get back to handing in homework on time (Something I pride myself on, even though it should be a given. It's hard to prioritize inputting 90 E-mail addresses so you can send out meeting reminders and writing a chapter abstract that you'll get docked points on every day its late. So hard, but I think I chose correctly that time).

I love routine in the general sense, that I have time dedicated to work, school, homework, clubs, etc... But I hate doing the exact same thing in each of those areas every day. I crave variety. One of the many reasons why I love PR.

So that's what I've been up to this month. What have you all been doing? Tweet me with the hashtag #WIBUTSeptember to let me know the cool things you're involved in!

Until next time,

Amanda

Popular Articles:
Topic Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page